2008 Financial Crisis

Shall we do a 10 year retrospective a year early? Why not.

I feel this event has completely defined my adult life (I was 13/14 in 2008), only really ever knowing jobs, over-priced rent, my Dad struggling to find regular work, everything from pubs to libraries to doctor surgeries shutting.

However, I don’t really remember how it was before 2008. Was everything a bit more prosperous, or was it just as straitened as it has been for the past nine years? How did it affect you, if it did? Are we still living in its effects? Do you think it will be remembered similarly to the Great Depression of 1930s?

It would be great to hear from people who were adults before 2008 especially.

2 Likes

Lock this thread until 2018

11 Likes

i graduated with a 2:2 in animation in 2007 and like to blame the fact that ive never had a job in that field on the credit crunch and not on the fact that there are v few animators in the uk and most of them were better qualified than me anyway

1 Like

From the wikipedia page

The active phase of the crisis, which manifested as a liquidity crisis, can be dated from August 9, 2007, when BNP Paribas terminated withdrawals from three hedge funds citing “a complete evaporation of liquidity”.[21]

Just a few weeks out

1 Like

There was definitely a prosperous era before this, high house prices, a lot consumerism. I remember my brother being given a 110% mortgage which seems hard to believe now. When I came out of uni in 2003 jobs seemed reasonably easy to come by and you didn’t have to do any of this unpaid internship nonsense.

1 Like

An inevitable, practically aimed for, purely ideological decision to keep as many of us in poverty and in the fetters for as long as possible.
The staggering amount of inflation we have coming up once we’ve pandered to morons and racists will make this social cleansing look like a picnic though.

1 Like