An album you wish you had heard at 15

:exploding_head::hole: If you could pass an album through a wormhole to your 15 year old self, which would it be?

I was revisiting Paramore’s After Laughter on a recent walk and thinking how much I would have adored it (rather than just hammering Weezer and Deftones) and woulda been swept up by the joy of it.

Upon_a_Different_Shore

11 Likes

Limiting it to bands I didn’t already know / love, it’s hard to not pick The Lonesome Crowded West. Feel cheated I didn’t get into them until I graduated from college. Extra frustrating because it came out when I was 15.

1 Like

2 Likes

Sending a newer artist back in time, bet I would have loved Mastersystem. Pretty much exactly my thing in a timeless way.

3 Likes

Either one of these at 15 and I wouldn’t have waited so long to get into hip hop. Was over 30 before I heard them.

1 Like

After Murder Park by the Auteurs (which I think was actually out when I was 15), or The Ugly Organ by Cursive (which definitely wasn’t).

I played cello as a teenager but ended up giving it up. Had no idea rock bands could have a cello player…

4 Likes

Maybe something like four tet or sharon van etten cause my taste was too male and guitary.

Minutemen - Double Nickels on the Dime, particularly History Lesson part 2

Jesus Lizard - Liar

Feel like they would have given me a push to try and start a band. Also would have liked to have heard Erykah Badu - Mama’s Gun to open my ears a bit. Don’t think I’d properly listened to ATCQ at that age but it wasn’t far off

Building Nothing Out of Something was the Modest Mouse album I didn’t know I needed at 15, when I was listening to Good News and the Moon and Antarctica

1 Like