Anyone ever been on an Amazon 'fulfilment centre' tour

It’s bound to be bloody horrendous but a mate of mine has asked me if I wanna go on one next month and I’m sort of tempted to go just to hear and see how their propaganda plays out.

A waste of an hour or a (horrible) insight into 21st century capitalist consumerism?

Anyone been on one?

See, i’d never work for Amazon and the reports i’ve read all tally with it being a horrendous company.

Whenever i bump into someone who works there, though, and i ask how it is, they all say it’s not bad at all, flexible, and the overtime money’s excellent (£17 an hour i think).

Go on a Tuesday…y’know when Donna bakes cakes.

2 Likes

Why the fixed smiles?

Why the dead eyes?

They’ll show you a nice part. Why would they show you something horrible?

Just, like. Donate to a strike fund or do something useful.

2 Likes

I worked in a warehouse where part of it was amazon, hard to say whether my job or theirs was worse, probably theirs as the job security must be terrible

Never been on one. My BIL is a manager of some sort at one of them. Would be mildly interested in going to one of their super high tech automated ones. Don’t like the idea of gawking around a manned centre while people do low-wage, low-job-security work though.

It’s not a zoo.

Just read one of the many, many articles where they describe how shit it is to work there and boycott them like the rest of us.

3 Likes

I almost got a job at the Amazon fulfilment centre in Rugeley

my experience from that job though is getting up early, travelling on the bus, and waiting absolutely ages to piss in a cup for the mandatory pre-employment drugs and alcohol test; then I filled in the form specifying the hours I was available to work (zero hours contract boiiii); and then got calls for about a month from the Amazon person absolutely ignoring that form and asking if I could work shifts at ridiculous times until they eventually gave up