Are you a catastrophiser?

I would never have described myself as such until someone at work did, and it was a total lightbulb moment. now it means I can explain to others why I’m so hyper neurotic when it comes to planning things (…like Russian visas) and doing things I’ve never done before. My dad and my nan are/were the world’s biggest worriers so it’s almost certainly a nurture thing.

Are you a catastrophiser? (Public)

• Chronic catastrophiser, constantly working overtime to make contingency plans and getting in a panic about things going wrong
  • Sometimes, when it’s reasonable to fret about something going wrong and make a back-up plan
  • Every so often I’ll catastrophise about something but generally I’m chill
  • I am cool as a cucumber, life’s too short to worry maaaan

0 voters

I am not, but I live with one.

1 Like

I would say I’m not because my belief that everyone secretly hates me and everything that can go wrong will is the truth

think i’m actually the opposite of this. always assume everything will just work out, so hardly ever stress details

2 Likes

Big time. I don’t think I’m very sane actually, the other week I spent an hour in my dressing gown prodding the ceiling because I was obsessed that it was collapsing. This year I’ve already had an ebb and flow worry about dying of two different types of cancer and I’ve been obsessively checking google to see if my uncle (who I don’t really know) in canada has died since the middle of last year

Yeah me too. Probably why I’ve never really got anything done.

I’m the opposite too, but that’s bad in its own way. Overly chill and relaxed about things until right before the deadline when I suddenly get major stress having to deal with everything that I let pile up. so while I really don’t worry about big stuff, the smaller things end up catching me out because I don’t plan well enough for them.

Maybe it’s just a side effect of being a super procrastinator but even so

2 Likes