Breakup/Heartbreak songs

Surely somebody has thought to tackle this thorny issue in song form? I’m going through a breakup and want to wallow in it for a bit. What are the best songs to help me do this?

No Distance Left To Run came on on shuffle this morning, boy oh boy - that did the trick! More like that, please.

Sorry to hear about this :frowning:

I think this is a great break-up song:

And this one too. This version is particularly awkward as it was recorded after Stuart Murdoch and Isobel Campbell split up, and features a spoken-word riposte from Isobel:

Listened to this a lot during a break up a few years ago. These lines helped:

“Ride your bike all night and give your heart a break
And give your head a shove and fuck that
Subject love, you’ll get another chance someday”

Sorry to hear that man, ‘Guess I’m Doing Fine’ was always my go to

I have a lot of experience in this area.

Wrens - The Meadowlands

Obviously and rightly considered a classic of the breakup album genre. This feels seasonally appropriate too.
Standout: She Sends Kisses

Turnover - Peripheral Vision

Give this one a go. The reviews weren’t crazy but it really has something. Very mellow emo-inflected indie rock. Mainly it gets that strange lilting high of recent heartbreak. It flies by and is something a little more up tempo for this kind of thing.
Standout: Cutting My Fingers Off

Whiskeytown pneumonia

Ryan Adams’ last album with the group before going solo. Less country than their other work and although not strictly breakup throughout, it captures a sense of beautiful loneliness. The kind that makes you think maybe you can stick this thing out :slight_smile:
Standout: Jacksonville Skyline

And two loosies.

Angelina
A lovely song by a young band about the confusion of this kind of thing.

Beeswing
I gasped in pain when I first heard this through to the end. A classic song about a doomed love affair.

Chin up x

This for when you’re for a more angry/ hard done by vibe