Classical music

classical

Been meaning to start this thread for awhile - my apologies if something like this already exists, but I couldn’t find it

I am an absolute novice when it comes to classical music - but I’m finding i’m more and more drawn to it, especially for work and reading and just relaxing

I know OF a number of composers but not really a lot about their work - the big folks like Mozart, Beethoven, Vivaldi etc I am enjoying

Bach’s cello stuff has been a personal favourite; I am listening to Schubert’s ‘Trout Quintet’ right at this very minute and enjoying it immensely

I am looking for recommendations - I especially like, for want of a better description, ‘gentle’ ‘floating’ stuff not too jarring. I’ve been focussing on the old dudes, but would like to get acquainted with more modern stuff.

Is it still a big ole sausage party now?? Where the ladies at??

Anyway, complete classical noob - hoping there is help here!

On the more modern front, not specifically ‘classical’ but I really like this guy

You should listen to some of Schubert’s Impromptu studies. This is my favourite (played by the master):

And obviously Clare de Lune is an absolute classic:

Allegri’s Miserere is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever written:

and the Lacrimosa from Mozart’s Requiem is amazingly dramatic:

If you want a bit more drama I’d try some Rachmaninov, Liszt, Chopin, Berlioz, Bizet. The Rach 3 (3rd Piano Concerto) is the one made big by the film Shine, and is incredible, especially if you like a bit of piano how-the-fuck-is-he-playing-that.

These are some of my favourites:

I’m lost in a world of YouTube now. I forgot La Campanella. Had to learn this for A level music.

If you’re looking for more info on women composers throughout history, the BBC has a handy starters guide with excerpts from pieces, archived programmes, and interviews: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02kn2t6