Concert Promotion Question

Hi,

I am very new to this concert promotion business and I am currently underway a negotiation with a major artist. I don’t to come across like a ‘newbie’ by asking him questions which may seem stupid to him.

The agent said “Normally we share profit 90% to the artist and 10% to the promoter.”. Does this mean there will be no guarantee flat fee if we do this way? And also, will the artist be paying for the expenses then? Since if the promoter still pays for expenses and only gets 10% share, surely this will be a loss of profit for the promoter.

I don’t have any real experience of this but if they said ‘share profit’ then yeah, there’s nothing guaranteed at all because presumably it would be quite easy for there to be zero profit!

That said, it depends on whose profit. If they’re negotiating directly with you then presumably you’re the one paying for the venue etc so in theory you are the one who determines when there’s a profit, i.e. when the expense costs have been covered.

The latter sounds like a dodgier proposition for the artist, so unless they’ve also requested a guaranteed amount or have some way to verify your costs upfront as well as the venue’s profits I’m guessing it’s not that?

I mean 10% for the promoter if we’re talking pure profits seems fair given your only real job is to get people in the venue and the more you get in the better you do. If you’re paying for all the promotion out of those profits then it sounds like you’re being screwed but that’s also not great for the artist in question is it, because they hardly want to play to an empty venue because you’re not being paid enough?

I guess @Antelope may have specific NZ experience of promotions, albeit in the theatre field?