Crowdfunding – Experiences?

Hey!

Who’s got some experience with crowdfunding that they’d like to share with me? I’m going to launch a crowdfunding campaign for a new film festival pretty soon, and I’ve never done it before in my life. What are some good ways to do it, and what are some things to avoid?

Takk!

wr

PS: Will probably be using Kickstarter.

Would you be interested to know if we have absolutely no experience with crowdfunding?

I am interested in knowing absolutely everything about you, Balonz

1 Like

I’ve got experience of it but I’ve only ever done tiny ones, not very good at ones that require PR outside of tweeting about it. I’m hoping to set up a Patreon soon which might be worth exploring depending on the festival and what you can offer in the run up to it?

2 Likes

Then I will let you know that I have absolutely no experience of crowdfunding but wish you only well in your endeavour.

1 Like

Yeah, definitely have to come up with some cool “prizes” for the different amounts of money people can donate. Free festival passes, merchandise, names on website/screen, exclusive special events, etc.

I think Patreon is more ongoing stuff, so things that you can immediately redeem, not just when the festival comes around. People use it as a sort of regular income eg. Spencer Krug makes one song a month that’s just for Patreon supporters and you ask for a small amount (his is $1) but hope to get lots of people. Again, probably not right for the festival, but an option.

1 Like

Yeah, as you say I don’t think Patreon is the right fit for this – forgot that it was an ongoing thing. But for Kickstarter as well we’ll need “prizes”, so have to think of some good ones!

Not Kickstarter. but also I bet you’d be most successful with Kickstarter

1 Like