EDM Criticism - Music Theory

Hello DiS community! :slight_smile:

I’m just learning to play music. And as of music theory, I’m only starting the learning curve too.

There is one thing I’ve noticed though: mainstream EDM, for me, sounds so dumbed downed nowadays.
The same build ups, bass drops, always the same little scream that hops on right before the bass drop.

And I can’t help but wonder: why am I more attracted to more ‘‘complex music’’? Aphex Twins? Even Daft Punk, heck, sounds more complex. Or rock bands such as Black Keys and Radiohead (to stay in the mainstream and not diving too deep) have something more than guys like Avicii, Calvin Harris and the likes.
But I’m such a newbie I can’t really grasp where the complexity lies technically. If you guys have any sources or information yourself, feed me here! :smiley:

I don’t want to sound like that hipster EDM hater. I am just truly intrigued as to why it sounds so simple and stupid, for me…

Thanks,
The Rat

just listen to autechre.

2 Likes

( Thanks for the music by the way :slight_smile: )

My problem is not finding great underground electronic music it’s mostly about putting the finger on what makes me dislike mainstream EDM :disappointed:

This early draft of a chapter from Haruki Murakami’s A Wild Sheep Chase needs some work

4 Likes

i dont even know if this joke makes sense

2 Likes

lifes too short to worry about what you don’t like, focus on what you do.
And listen to autechre.

1 Like

Focusing on what I dislike let’s me see if it’s only about hating mainstream or if mainstream really is extremely simplistic. :slight_smile:

You’ve got a nerve to be asking a favour.

4 Likes

You have got a lot of nerve to act the way that you do
+@

2 Likes

Mainstream is not simplistic, look at ABBA.

You answer your own question by referring to the predictability and monotony of the music you don’t like.