Fitness and exercise thread 2023

Hello!

I’ve just been for a gym induction ahead of starting a “lifting for ladies” course in a couple of weeks. I’m a total beginner, but want to get fitter and stronger because I’m getting old and things hurt sometimes. Don’t have any particular goals at the moment but I’m sure that’ll change as I progress. Don’t think I’ll do any cardio at the gym (I’ll save that for when I can be arsed riding my bike) - just resistance machines at the moment and the weights etc once I’ve started the course. Aiming to try and go a couple of times a week at the moment. We’ll see how that goes.

Anyway. Tell me about your goals or talk about what you wanna do this year please!

As per the previous thread:

please please please be mindful that diet and weight loss chat isn’t helpful to everyone and can be actively harmful for many people, so consider spoilering anything that might be difficult for others to read and engage with, or start a new thread if you want to chat about that side of things

9 Likes

I went to a crossfit gym last year and was so impressed with how strong everyone was and this is what i would love to work on this year, building strength. Also want to pick up a new active hobby, 2022 was golf but haven’t decided on 2023 yet, hopefully can settle on one

2 Likes

My main target is to improve on the 81 games of football I played last year.

I do have a weight target but (as last year) it’s my pre-pandemic weight.

5 Likes

No resolutions or goals this year as I’m pretty happy with the way things are going and I’m in a good place with exercise atm. Also difficult to make concrete plans now I’m back working abroad for weeks at a time every few months.

I’d like to get back to weekly spin classes in addition to my PT sessions and go to the gym once a week when possible

Just love lifting dem weights 🏋🏻‍♀️

8 Likes