I want to make Electronic music. Can you help?

I need some advice. I want to make music. House music / techno. I have a laptop. What software / relatively cheap hardware do I need to get started. I’m a complete novice, I don’t know where to start. I don’t want to spend a lot of money on stuff that is too complicated to use but I do have some cash at my disposal if needed. Should I start by trawling through internet reviews ?

I know this is very simplistic but I can’t stress enough, I have no idea what I’m doing.

Any tips and recommendations to start a music project?

most importantly, you will need a keytar.

To begin with, I suggest you download Audacity. It’s free and easy to use, and comes packaged with many different tools and effects. Completely rudimentary, but it might help you to get to grips with the concepts of sampling, sequencing, and just generally manipulating sounds.

I’ve used Audacity to record DJ mixes in the past, didn’t realise it came with the tools to actually create stuff ? maybe I had an old version. I’m reading a lot about FL Studio. Is that a good option ?

I’ve never used FL Studio, but if you’re reading good stuff, go for it!

Audacity - it can absolutely be used to create stuff, so long as you have a mic. You can record sounds, import them, then mess with the soundwave in any way you like, before exporting your experiment in almost any file format.

Get one them Casio keyboards that makes the “DJ!” noise and an old tape deck, away you go.

I’ve had a brief play with Audacity and FL Studio. The latter has billions of options, but isn’t that easy to bring samples or recordings into (to my knowledge). Audacity has a lot less options but is easy to bring samples into.

http://www.singlecellsoftware.com/caustic