Let's talk about: infestations

Keep finding silverfish in my flat, I should probably be concerned about this, yes?

What infestations have you had? Let’s get this sexy Tuesday morning topic pumpin’.

1 Like

Moved into a flat once that we very quickly discovered had cockroaches. The managing agent wouldn’t do anything about it (conveniently it was written into the tenancy that pests were our responsibility) and after endless badgering we got them to let us out of the contract a few months early.

The flat I was living in up until the summer also had a problem with them, but it was quite minor. They weren’t nesting in the flat, just wandering in from the neighbours’ place. So as long as we kept it super clean they stayed away.

I’ve lived in about three places in Edinburgh that had a mouse. They’re pretty endemic in tenement flats unfortunately.

Moths, in one of the houses I lived in after I was a student. They started in a rug that the landlord had left in a top story storage cupboard and spread via the carpets to pretty much every upstairs room before we managed to get a handle on it.

#mothchat

We also had mice on and off for years in the last rented place I lived.

The house we’re in at the moment is the first that I’ve lived in that hasn’t had silverfish. They’re pretty harmless, I think, but can attack fabrics. You can get rid of them with chemicals, but they can live for ages without eating which makes their return likely.

Millipedes. Not too many, but they seem to live behind the skirting boards and come out to feast in the middle of the night. Appazo everyone has them in Glasgow tenements is this true or are we just filthy beggars?

Had a fly infestation during the summer. Like thousands of the big buzzy kind. Properly horrific, took me ages to work out that they were getting in from the loft - I presume something had died up there. Had to buy a dust buster to suck them all up. So so grim.

1 Like

Woodlice, moths, mice, cockroaches, wasps.