No motivation to get a full-time job (help)

So I graduated 3-4 months ago and I currently have a part-time job as a teacher assistant, which I’ve been doing for over a year now. It doesn’t pay well (i.e. for me to be able to move out and stuff, and actually have some sort of life), it can be frustrating and the commute is a real pain.

The thing is… I just don’t have any kind of motivation to look for something else. I’m filled with dread before even looking for jobs. Everything I read about employment these days is so incredibly pessimistic, I always end up thinking ‘what’s the point’?

I guess it doesn’t help that I still don’t have a clue what I want to do career-wise, but I guess this is normal when you’re in your 20s? (with an English degree).

I feel like I’m supposed to be looking for ‘the perfect job’ or something, and that I’ve somehow messed things up by not figuring this out earlier. Is there anyway to overcome this feeling, and just fucking do it?

Do you have any stories about work after graduation?

I’d probably advise just to take whatever full time job you can get and use it as a jumping off point for thinking about the future. No point aiming for perfect job right away.

What about making the leap from assistant to actual teacher?

Applying for jobs, interviewing and being on JSA is the worst. Geniunely some of the most depressing and worst periods of my life have been the years after uni, the unemployment -> temporary/insecure job -> unemployment cycle

It’s completely normal IMO to lack motivation to apply for something else especially as you say it feels like there’s nothing else out there/the future is bleak.

#woeisme

edit: thought i’d add a time frame as well. 3-4 months isn’t that long! I was doing this shit for 3 years before going back to uni