Opinions on the Nottingham music scene

Hi! I’m a 3rd year student from Nottingham Trent and was hoping a few of you could answer some questions about your opinions on the Notts music scene for my research!

What is your age?

Describe the Nottingham music scene in 3 words

How do you usually hear about music events in Nottingham? ie promoters, the internet, magazines etc

Do you think awareness for smaller events/gigs is good in Nottingham or could be improved? Please explain why

What would you improve about the Nottingham music scene? ie more variety, more events, more awareness etc

Why do you go to music events?

I don’t know
I don’t
I’m not sure
Maybe more circus acts?
To get #wasted

I went to rock city once. I think i saw the murderdolls?

Not as good as the Rochester noise scene

Does this honestly pass as the research element of a dissertation? What’s the dissertation on?

Yes this constitutes as my research. It’s about the local music scene in Nottingham

Describe the Nottingham music scene in 3 words- not really great

How do you usually hear about music events in Nottingham?- internet

Do you think awareness for smaller events/gigs is good in Nottingham or could be improved?- smaller stuff like RC basement and bodega you only really hear about if youre already a fan of the band and check their tour dates, but its hard to think how you could change that. they both already have decent online presence.

What would you improve about the Nottingham music scene?- we’re not on the map anymore. everything at the arena is wank and everything at rock city is a 10 year anniversary show of some band from the naughties. new stuff gets swept under the rug. need more effort to promote new local stuff, and more effort to divert big-ish bands back here on their tours (we got that seagulls/protomartyr tour this year, but apart from that most bands of that size miss us out, which is a shame cause we’ve got decent venues)