Out now: Matthew Collings · Uzonia


After the release of ‘Hello Darkness‘ in 2017, a collaboration with Dag Rosenqvist, ‘Uzonia’ is the fourth solo album of the Scotland-based composer Matthew Collings.

“The feeling running through the record is of energy, of trying to find something positive in dark times, of being confronted with vast forces, often beyond your control, surveillance, social media, climate collapse. It ends with a question mark, and has energy but also an aspect of despair; to me at least.”

den321 | Matthew Collings · Uzonia
den322 | David Norland · Glam Tear Stain
available formats: Cd · Vinyl · Digital

The latest update includes new records of Boris, Michael Kiwanuka, Carla Dal Forno, Alcest, Sufjan Stevens, Kreidler, Editors, Fink, Swans, Deathprod, Black Marble, GoGo Penguin, Vatican Shadow, Refused, Oiseaux-Tempête, Maleem Mahmoud Ghania & Pharoah Sanders, Tape Loop Orchestra, Ekin Fil, Yacht, Yeah But No, Lightning Bolt, Johann Johannsson, DIIV, Portico Quartet, Moon Duo, Patrick Watson, Penguin Cafe, Anne Imhof, Krokofant, Matthew Halsall new Soundtracks (Pusher II + Pusher III, PJ Harvey - All About Eve, The Dead Don’t Die, Ben Lovett - The Wind, Gregory Tripi - MA, Stranger Things Season I - III, Teen Spirit, Breaking Bad, Fear And Loathing Las Vegas), Reissues of The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Stereolab, Fugazi, James Holden, Mr. Scruff, Mogwai, Ludovico Einaudi, Coil, Steve Hiett, Dinosaur Jr., Scott Walker, Klaus Schulze & Pete Namlook & more

Restocks of Baroness, Cult Of Luna, Ultha, Long Distance Calling, Ulver, Martin Kohlstedt & Ryuichi Sakamoto - OST Restocks: Blade Runner, Birdman, The Revenant, There Will Be Blood, Game Of Thrones

Still new: Battles, Floating Points, Emptyset, Angel Olsen, Mantana Roberts, Special Request, Portico Quartet, Moon Duo & more

You can find the full list further below and more new items + recommendations on the landing page of the denovali online record store. You can browse through the complete available stock of the store via www.denovali.com/store/allitems · you also can find this option through the categories section of the shop system
Thanks a lot.



After the release of ‘Hello Darkness‘ in 2017, a collaboration with Dag Rosenqvist, ‘Uzonia’ is the fourth solo album of the Scotland-based composer Matthew Collings. His acclaimed 'audio-visual opera’, ‘A Requiem For Edward Snowden’, for strings, clarinet, electronics and real-time visuals was premiered to a sell-out crowd in October 2014, and has been performed at Glasgow CCA, Edinburgh Fringe Festival and Utrecht’s Gaudeamus Muziekweek (NL). He’s responsible for several installations using custom-made software, which have been exhibited at Burning Man Festival in San Francisco or Glasgow’s Centre for Contemporary Arts. His work for films includes a specially commissioned live score for Dziga Vertov’s 1929 silent classic, ‘The Man with the Movie Camera’ and an invitation to work on ‘The Invisibles’, a commission from Amnesty International.

There are many references to dark things; corrupt organisations, military contractors, natural forces threatening to destroy, weapons, dark intentions, giving up… We live in a time of apathy, of action, of confusion…will middle class, white men (like me?) own the future? Who has been paying attention?"

‘deeply unsettling’ - THE WIRE

‘this is art-house ambience aiming to be something a lot different to the norm, and succeeding…in an era where everything seems a copy of a copy, his work has a freshness to it’ - METRO

· Listen: www.denovali.com/matthewcollings
· Cd+LP: www.denovali.com/store
· Download: www.denovali.com/digitalstore

· heavy matte covers + heavy matte printed inner sleeves, 2 different vinyl colors, 180g vinyl, free download code
· limited edition: 100 pieces on yellow vinyl
· download code
· price: 18.00 euro

· nice digipak packaging
· price: 13.00 Euro





den306 | The Eye Of Time - MYTH II : A Need to Survive
den307 | Blackfilm · Zero One Seven
den308 | Blackfilm & Eraldo Bernocchi · Along the Corridors
den309 | Elektro Guzzi · Polybrass
den310 | LTO · Déjà Rêvé
den311 | Ricardo Donoso · Calibrate
den312 | Paco Sala · Our Love Is The Gold
den313 | The Pirate Ship Quintet · Emitter
den314 | Kuba Kapsa · Supersonic Moth
den315 | Multicast Dynamics · Lost World
den316 | Orson Hentschel · Antigravity
den317 | Saffronkeira · Automatism
den318 | Ricardo Donoso · Re_Calibrate
den319 | Mario Diaz De Leon · Cycle and Reveal
den320 | Petrels · The Dusk Loom
den321 | Matthew Collings · Uzonia
den322 | David Norland · Glam Tear Stain

1 Like