People you share your commute with

This thread is brought to you in association with @McGarnagle, @Atrophie and partner website www.drownedinstrauss.com !

Who do you share your commute with? Here are some examples:

Please give your own examples!

Hardly see any of the same people - but I don’t get a regular train or anything, I just get the next bus or tram or walk in.

The trains to/from Cambridge are half-hourly in the morning and hourly until 5.40pm. And I’ve been doing this commute for ten years. It’s weird seeing a Person From The Train out and about on a weekend - I almost feel as if I should give them a nod of recognition.

courteney cox is always on my bus

No one really now, as I try to cycle in most days. I have seen the guy who cycles in with a king charles spaniel in his backpack several times, which is always a good way to start the day.

When I was commuting from Leytonstone to Putney every day though, and had to get a particular train from Waterloo, there was a pair of big, lumbering brothers who’d be doing the same journey.

The journey involved Leytonstone > Bank > Waterloo (via the really long walk through Bank station) > Putney. They were really slow walkers, and walked side by side, and used to stop as soon as they stepped on to the carriage, but had absolutely nailed where they needed to stand to get on and off the trains at the right place, and used to just loom and push their way right to the edge of the platform and doors every time.

They used to wind me up so much.

I get that sometimes with people I recognise from the climbing centre - I don’t know their name, I just see them hitting the mat a couple of times a week. I feel like I should acknowledge them, but also feel that would be weird.

So I just avoid their gaze and pretend it’s normal.

Poor @AphexTwinkletoes

Ha! I wish. We’ve only climbed together once.

Commute has recently changed.