Question for teachers

It’s a rather simple question that, strangely, I’m finding hard to discover an answer to.

In the process of setting up as a KS2 private tutor, and I just want to know what the Teachers’ Manual is. I intend to concentrate on reading, writing, grammar, preparing for SATs etc, and I was just wondering whether the Teachers’ Manual is something that covers all aspects of teaching or instead is dedicated to individual disciplines - reading, writing, grammar etc?

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I need to know the answer. Thanks!

Literally never heard of such a thing and I’ve been a teacher (secondary) for twenty years. Sorry!

2 Likes

Early Foreigner lyrics needed revising

7 Likes

In all seriousness: are you talking about the national curriculum?

The KS1/2 levels are published online on the Standards and Testing Agency site, so Mrs CCB tells me.

Personally I think the world has gone fucking bonkers if people are paying money to game their children’s SAT results at the age of 10 and 11. (Though I guess people have been doing it with the 11-plus for years … World’s a twisted place).

3 Likes

The curriculum

:clap: Please :clap:don’t :clap:do :clap: past :clap: papers :clap:with :clap:students :clap:

This infuriated me as a year 6 teacher. There are only three years worth of new curriculum papers and teachers need them to do practice papers in class in the immediate run up. So annoying ‘i did this with my tutor in January’. Pointless.

Sorry man but I really don’t see the point of tutors in primary.

Felt bad so I’ll be slightly helpful

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-english-programmes-of-study/national-curriculum-in-england-english-programmes-of-study

Lgr11 innit

Yay I now have a pdf downloaded :smiley:

see if Mrs CCB thinks the Swedish National Curriculum passes muster

2 Likes