2 Likes

Mostly my Dad:

The Carpenters
Boney M
Pink Floyd
Brotherhood Of Man

(Even the last one, I’m glad of.)

1 Like

Which song was the first Bowie you heard?

I’d probably heard a few songs of his beforehand without knowing but Absolute Beginners and was the first song I loved of his. Obviously not Bowie’s best but it’s such a brilliant song. I had it on Now That’s What I Called Music 1986. My Dad bought me it from Our Price. I’m showing my age. I’ll stop.

1 Like

Paul Simon - Graceland is the only one I really still listen to regularly - I know this is quite a common answer for those around my age

3 Likes

(Allow me one last post tonight whilst drunk.)

As a ten year old and watching the video “You Can Call Me Al” I thought that Chevy Chase was the singer of the song and the other guy (Paul Simon) was a nobody, just a filler.

6 Likes

Haha…me too…and you evoke a dear memory of my late father explaining this to me and me taking a while to believe him :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Tindersticks

3 Likes

Not sure… want to say Starman but its hazy

I remember spinning around on my knees, getting dizzy, listening to my folks 7" of Come on Eileen at about 3, having the time of my life… it start somewhere

1 Like

Long car drives to Cornwall were spent listening to ELO, Blondie, Carly Simon and Helen Reddy (Angie Baby remaining one of the creepiest songs I’ve heard). Love them all still.

A lot of you folks clearly had younger, cooler parents than me! My dad was only into classical and my mum didn’t really listen to any music except John Denver and James Galway on rare occasions.

The only thing that was played regularly that has stuck with me is Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits album, it still evokes memories of rainy Sundays and the smell of roast dinner cooking.

2 Likes

Yeah, a car stereo staple. Know that album inside out.

Also - the Pogues.

1 Like