Smoking

Posting this thread because I’m starting to get anxious about my future long-term health. I’m in my mid-20s and I’ve been smoking for about 9 years (started when I was in 6th form, basically did it because I was utterly miserable and smoking gave me something to look forward to during the day, plus my friends did it), but I’ve been smoking lightly (1-2 a day if that, then maybe 6-7 most Fridays) for most of that time (although I’ve mostly smoked filtered rollies which I’m convinced are worse for you than cigarettes, although some people argue cigarettes are worse because of all the extra chemicals or someting… I really don’t know). I am meaning to buy a decent vape very soon, once I’m less broke.

If I’ve smoked (lightly) for 9 years, does this mean I’ve probably blown my chances of living until 100? Or can my health still go back to that of a non-smoker if I give up now and never smoke again, given I’m still young?

Feel free to share your own worries about your smoking habits. Probably not the most appropriate thread for a Friday. I’ve probably posted this thread before.

Would you want to live to be 100? Can’t think of anything worse tbh m9.

gave up a few times but always started again (really missed them)

Gave up 6 months ago and this time i have no intention of starting again and do not miss them

The only thing i would not do is get into an expensive vaping habit instead

just quit

I thought…but what about holidays…festivals…getting air at work…dont miss it at all, and feel better, sleep better, dont stink,

Of course Im not as cool but whatever

Sunday night to 5pm on a Friday I’m fine, absolutely gagging for one as soon as a beer touches my lips on a Friday night. Probs smoke about 10 a week though so it’s fine, throat feels like shite the morning after if I go fully off the rails though

Also hate having to be inside all night. Probs the main reason for smoking is to get into the beer garden where all the good chat lives