Space - Give Me Your Future

As I’m a newbie on this site, you’ll probably already think I’m talking utter bollocks.

But I’ve just listened to Give Me Your Future, the brand new album by Space, and I think it’s the best British album I’ve heard since Bowie’s Blackstar.

Seriously, name me another so-called third-rate “Britpop” (ha ha) band that possesses this amount of vitality and energy almost three decades into their lifespan?

Pity everyone else is probably gonna slam it as outdated tosh.

I’ll get me coat.

2 Likes

do they still have the guy in a fez in them?

Nah, he left just before they made this one.

Are you a member of Space?

No, just another deranged lunatic fanboy.

I’m not a grammar Nazi, but I can never forgive them for that “more deadlier” lyric - especially not considering the number of times I ended up hearing that fucking song back in the 90s.

The content of this thread puzzled me, until I looked up Wikipedia and discovered there are two Space’s. I never heard of the UK one - I gather they did not make too many waves outside the UK.

Do they still have Darryl from The Walking Dead in them?

5 Likes

I’m a huge Space fan, by far my favourite band…

“Give Me Your Future” is a stonking album, “Killswitch” is the best track I’ve heard in years.
The whole album is a sort of love letter to 80’s synth, but with Tommy Scott’s exceptional ideas and lyrics shining through.

If people didn’t catch the album before this one, “Attack of the 50ft Mutant Kebab”, that’s a must. Insane-ska-bedlam.

They tour a lot, there’s loads of dates for this year coming up, and I’d highly recommend them live.

:slight_smile:

Oh, and there’s no “more deadlier” lyric…

The lyrics to “Female of the Species” are:

A thousand thundering thrills await me
Facing insurmountable odds gratefully
The female of the species is more deadly than the male

Shock shock horror horror
Shock shock horror
I’ll shout myself hoarse for your supernatural force

Oh she deals in witchcraft