Tell me what makes the best possible internship!

Hi all,

I’m taking on some interns for the first time (to work with my small festival) and I want it to be the best possible experience for all parties involved. I’m sure there are many of us here who have had internships, good and bad ones at that, and I’m hoping the DiS hivemind can help me with that.

Ideally this thread will be a place where we can share stories about what worked really well with a particular internship and what didn’t work with others. Keep it light-hearted (probably not the best place for horror stories), but not outright silly please.

I should add that they’re already being given lots of responsibility as well as space to try out their own ideas, as we’re a small festival with no other staff than me (and I’m not technically even employed yet) so they’ll be running the festival alongside me.

Ok, let’s hear it!
:sparkles::sparkles::sparkles::sparkles:

Getting paid

8 Likes

working with @whiterussian

I’m sure there are many different types of internships, but this is unpaid, part-time as part of their university degrees.

I could be a nightmare to work with for all you know

The reason I’m mentioning this stuff is that for my internship that I did as part of my MA, I got the feeling that no-one really knew what to do with me and they just wanted to check a box that said they’d had an intern but had no real ideas about what I should do with my time there. I made up stuff to do for myself, but feel it would definitely have been a more constructive experience if they’d had specific tasks and responsibilities in mind for me.

1 Like