The student room

Are you a student? What are you doing? How’s it going?

I’ve just signed up for another open uni course, in computing. Don’t really know why, suppose I fancy a career change.

Quite looking forward to getting all the course materials and getting started :nerd_face:

1. no
  2. browsing DiS
  3. fine thanks
13 Likes

went to the university of life mate

2 Likes

Kind of, on a course that is accredited by Man Met through work.
Kind of Accountancy based.
Pretty good, got 2 exams left and the need to write some report by next August.
It also allows me 1 WFH day a week and 1 day in training so mixes up the work week.

2 Likes

I am a part-time student doing a Legal Practice Course at De Montfort University, while working full-time.

It’s a nightmare.

1 Like

Nope! Am going to a Freshers’ Fayre (Fair?) on Thursday though.

Also, I did Computing AS level and it was much, much harder than IT.

I would like to do a course but I am not very good at studying from books

I vaguely fancy doing a course but am discouraged by the fact it costs all the money and takes literally forever.

4 Likes

Started studying for a Certificate in Local Government Studies on Friday accredited by the National University of Ireland.

It’s a one year course and work are paying for it. It’s distance learning, which suits me but it means that all the lessons are condensed into one day a month.

It is unusual to be back studying seeing how I didn’t really enjoy college, which was too slow paced and restrictive for me. I’m hoping that I’ll enjoy it but I’ll report back in April.

1. Technically yes
  2. Journalism (distance learning)
  3. The NCTJ are the biggest bunch of incompetent crooks who love to make distance learners jump through 500 hoops.
  • tried to charge me £400 to take new modules because my chronic RSI meant I could no longer take shorthand (I read the law to them, they backed down pretty quickly)