The War On Cars

Just thought it was worth having a thread about “THE WAR ON CARS”. Gotta head out to catch a BUS (amirite?), but I’ll add some posts as and when; I’m not very good at threads generally, soz.

New Highway Code just dropped, though, so there’s that. Predictably it’s irked the gammons

4 Likes

I’m a total hawk in the war on cars, fuck those wheely metal bastards up!

There really isn’t anything of the sort is there? There’s incredibly small limitations being placed on the car’s total domination of our lives and even that gets the gammons up in arms.

Certain parts of the Lake District want to ban cars, and while I’m all for it, I’m not seeing any realistic proposals for alternative ways of making the Lakes accessible. I can fucking see the Lake District from my window and it’s not really possible for me to go on a full day walking trip there on public transit, and what little transit does exist is slower and as expensive as driving there even just for one lone person. Four people in a car vs on the train? Fucking forget it.

Almost the entire country’s public transit is absolutely on its arse and nobody’s really interested in making it any better. I seriously can’t imagine seeing a wide network of affordable, reliable and fast public transit in my lifetime and it depresses the shit out of me.

So many hidden ways that having a car is currently more economical than relying on public transit. Plays into the paradox of being poor is more expensive. Quite grim.

11 Likes

How will we defeat these unfeeling beasts?

5 Likes

Great song, but it’s a shame that and Are Friends Electric are the only two of his songs most people know.

1 Like

The car feels nothing. It is made of string.

3 Likes

Cartoon Wars - kinda, if you consider “Who Framed Roger Rabbit?” to be a treatise on the destruction of LA’s tram network at the behest of Car manufacturers.

Culture Wars - definitely

Car with legs - a powerful foe whose strength is, paradoxically, its weakness.