UK job application standards

Hey gang,

I’m applying for a few jobs in the LME area in the next few days, but I have very little experience with the job application process in the UK. There’s obviously a bunch of stuff out there when I google, but I thought I’d ask you guys for some input as well.

So basically: What are the demands or unspoken standards that must be met in a good job application in the UK? Things to avoid, and things to definitely include? And how about my CV, what setup or layout should I go for?

Cheers,

your foreign pal,
wr

as discussed on here the other day we don’t include pictures? other than that good luck, very keen for you to come join the LME once more :heart:

Just send a single A4 page selfie like @Ruffers does

I think a nice layout on a CV is important. I downloaded a template for mine.

Don’t make your CV too lengthy or wordy.

I used to do recruitment so can have a look over anything if you would like

what level of employment are you going for?

it’s quite difficult to know the differences without really knowing how non-UK places do it.

i think knowing recruiters spend like eight seconds looking at your CV is the thing that’s stuck with me the most, so make it easy to follow but also sell yourself

Keep it brief, no-one wants to hear about your glass collecting job from 14 years ago or you’re NVQ in hairdressing

Make it relevant and how you meet the job description - throwing out your generic CV is really obvious

can I also ask what people think about sending an email to somewhere you’ve applied if they’re taking ages to get back to applicants?

is there any point in doing this at all? I hate waiting and just want to know if they’re just really slow or if they’re one of those awful employers who cant even spend 20 minutes sending out a generic rejection email.

like with all my work, i spend 30 mins on the content, 8 hours deliberating over things like the millimetre size of the space between the title and text