When do you think was the last time we weren’t living in unprecedented times?

Feels like maybe 97 to mid 99, then mid 00 to 9/11?

Always been some shit going on since then.

1 Like

The Matrix got it right when they said 1999 was the height of human civilization.

4 Likes

April 29th 1789

3 Likes

Sure seems that way

The night before The Offspring went to number 1 and terrorvision number 2.

Pretty sure Gay Dad were in the top 10 that week also…

So yeah, then i reckon. Think it was last century.

Sounds about right. I graduated in the summer of 2000 and there’s been something shite pretty-much every year since then. I feel like we’re getting towards saturation point, though.

1 Like

Yeah, I kind of feel like we’ve broken some sort of threshold. As I wrote to a friend in April:
Do you ever feel like we’re just repeating the 20th century? I can name half a dozen countries off the top of my head with crazy nationalist demagogues in power - USA, Turkey, Brazil, Philippines, Hungary and Russia. No doubt there’s more. We’re just starting the biggest depression since the 1930s. Globalisation is dying as every fucking country retreats in on itself. Next comes internment camps and mass murders by state actors. And some massive conflagration only this time who are the good guys?

1 Like

Internment camps are happening in china, they are imprisoning and torturing their ethnic muslim minority. Imo the mass murder is happening now - like those who allowed infected untested patients back into care homes is responsible for their mass deaths and allowing something like that can’t be a mistake, my 10+ year old Microbiology degree is enough for me to know that no patient should be allowed back into the community without testing (at least twice as well to account for false positives), let alone the government who has access to the best scientists in this field