Writing Thread

Writing things? Have written things? Want to write things? Things. Good writing, that.

Not sure there’s any demand for this thread, but let’s see…

I’ve had a few aborted attempts at writing an idea I’ve had for a couple of years. It’s never quite left me, and somehow seems to have refined itself in my mind into something coherent and workable.

I’m not very good at the process of writing. So far all I have is a couple of dozen pages of thoughts, sometimes a word, sometimes a paragraph. I can’t work out at the moment whether to start at an interesting point and tell the prior happenings in narration (it’s first person past tense), or whether to start earlier and keep it linear. I suppose at this point it’s better to just start whichever way, and sort it later if it doesn’t seem to work.

Also really struggling to get a feel for a character who is essential to the story. Perhaps it doesn’t matter so much with first person narration, as they’re necessarily coloured by the narrator’s view, but I think I ought to understand them more than I do at present.

4 Likes

I think I’m getting better but it’s taken a while. I’ve been writing a script, which has been a bit of a challenge because I think my brain finds atmosphere easier than structure.

The sticking with it advice is good advice though

would podcast scripts count as writing

1 Like

If it’s structuring words, it’s writing

is definitely what I tell myself when self-justifying the amount of time I spend typing stuff here

1 Like

I should write my dissertation into a proper book - about my suburb and mapping out my personal transitions through its houses.

I’m writing one about the history, redevelopment and gentrification of Manchester’s Northern Quarter called Our Fucking Detroit.

I’m also writing bits that are more about the city but in the same creative non-fiction way my dissertation was (my MA was Place Writing - think Nan Shepherd/Robert McFarlane/Amy Liptrot etc)